Synthesia vs Colossyan at a glance
| Synthesia | Colossyan | |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Basic, $0: 10 minutes of video a month, 9 avatars, Synthesia watermark; no MP4 download | Starter, $0, no credit card: 20 minutes a month with NEO avatars (0.5 with NEO2), 1 editor, up to 1080p; watermark removal starts on Professional |
| Entry paid plan | Starter: $19/mo monthly ($9 first month), $14/mo billed yearly ($168); up to ~12 extra minutes a month | Professional: $89/mo monthly or $59/mo billed yearly, for 1 editor; 30 minutes a month with NEO, 10 with NEO2 |
| Next plan up | Pro: $89/mo monthly ($49 first month), $59/mo billed yearly ($708); up to ~60 extra minutes a month | No middle plan. Professional with 2 or 3 editors: $134 or $179/mo monthly, $89 or $119/mo billed yearly |
| Seats | 1 editor on every self-serve plan; 3 guests on Starter, 5 on Pro; more editors on Enterprise | Up to 3 editors on Professional, extra members $45/mo monthly or $30/mo yearly; unlimited viewers on every plan |
| Enterprise | Custom pricing, unlimited video minutes | Custom pricing, billed annually; unlimited NEO and NEO2 minutes |
| Stock avatars | 9 (Basic), 125+ (Starter), 180+ (Pro), 240+ (Enterprise) | 300+ on every plan |
| Custom avatars | None (Basic), 3 (Starter), 5 (Pro), unlimited (Enterprise); Studio avatars a $1,000/year add-on | 15 (Starter), 20 (Professional), unlimited (Enterprise); 1 custom studio avatar included on Enterprise |
| Voices and cloning | "140+ languages & voices" on every plan; voice cloning on every plan | 700+ stock voices; 3 cloned voices (Starter), 5 (Professional), unlimited (Enterprise) |
| Languages and translation | 140+ languages; dubbing into 70+ (140+ on Enterprise); 1-click translation on Enterprise | 120+ languages on its pricing page (its homepage says 100+); 15 auto-translations a month (Starter), 20 (Professional), unlimited (Enterprise) |
| Inputs | Prompt, script, PDF, PowerPoint, public URL | PDF, PowerPoint, Word, script, URL, video |
| URL input | Yes, public pages under 4,500 words | Yes, listed as a source; limits not stated |
| Interactive video | CTAs and branching from Pro; quizzes on Enterprise | Quizzes and branching: 10 interactive videos a month (Starter), 15 (Professional), unlimited (Enterprise) |
| SCORM export | Enterprise only | None on Starter; 5 course and 5 video SCORM exports a month on Professional; unlimited on Enterprise |
| Courses | Videos can be embedded in courses or exported as SCORM | Unlimited course creation on every plan |
| Max video length | Not stated | 20 minutes (Starter); 30 minutes monthly, 50 minutes yearly (Professional); custom (Enterprise) |
| Export resolution | Full HD, 1920×1080 MP4; downloads from Starter | Up to 1080p (Starter, Professional), up to 4K (Enterprise) |
| API | Pro: up to 360 minutes a year, taken from the plan's limits; Enterprise: 360 minutes a year included | Professional: 360 minutes a year; Enterprise: custom |
| Brand kits | Enterprise | Every plan |
| Collaboration | Comments from Starter; workspaces and live collaboration on Enterprise | Shared workspaces on every plan; comments and draft sharing from Professional; team permissions on Enterprise |
| SSO | SAML/SSO on Enterprise | Custom SSO/SAML on Enterprise |
Sources, all checked November 4, 2026: Synthesia pricing, Synthesia homepage, Synthesia URL to video, Colossyan pricing (monthly prices from its billing toggle), Colossyan homepage. "Not stated" means the vendor's pages don't give the figure.
Which is cheaper, Synthesia or Colossyan?
For a single editor, Synthesia. Its Starter plan is $19 a month, or $14 a month billed yearly ($168), with a $9 first month. Colossyan's only self-serve paid plan, Professional, is $89 a month or $59 a month billed yearly for one editor (Synthesia pricing, Colossyan pricing, checked November 4, 2026).
At $59 a month billed yearly the two line up: Synthesia Pro and Colossyan Professional cost the same. What you get differs:
- Synthesia Pro gives up to about 60 extra minutes a month on top of 10 free minutes, 180+ stock avatars, 5 personal avatars, CTAs and branching, and API access of up to 360 minutes a year. Allowances reset each billing period.
- Colossyan Professional gives 30 minutes a month with NEO avatars and 10 with NEO2, 300+ stock avatars, 20 custom avatars, 5 cloned voices, quizzes and branching, 5 course and 5 video SCORM exports a month, and 360 API minutes a year.
On the free plans, Colossyan is more generous by its own numbers: 20 minutes a month against Synthesia's 10. For a team, Colossyan adds editors at $30 a month each billed yearly, up to 3; Synthesia's self-serve plans have 1 editor plus guests, and more editors mean Enterprise.
Which is better for training and L&D teams?
Both target training. Synthesia's homepage says it is trusted by over 90% of Fortune 100 companies and lists L&D, HR, sales enablement, compliance and SOP videos. Colossyan's homepage is titled "AI content for training teams" and builds full courses as well as videos (Synthesia, Colossyan).
The difference is where the training features sit:
- SCORM and quizzes: Colossyan includes them on Professional at a published price. Synthesia puts SCORM export and quizzes on Enterprise.
- Courses: Colossyan includes unlimited course creation on every plan. Synthesia says videos can be embedded in courses or exported as SCORM.
- Localisation: Synthesia lists 140+ languages and 1-click translation on Enterprise. Colossyan lists 120+ languages on its pricing page (100+ on its homepage) with 15 to 20 auto-translations a month on self-serve plans.
- Security: both put SSO on Enterprise. Colossyan's Enterprise lists SOC 2 Type II and EU or US data residency.
A mid-sized L&D team that needs SCORM without an enterprise contract can get it from Colossyan. A large company standardising on one platform across training, sales and marketing may prefer Synthesia's range.
Which is better for marketing and sales videos?
Synthesia offers more outside training. Its Pro plan adds branded share pages with a CTA button, custom fonts and bulk personalisation, and its homepage lists marketing and product videos alongside AI motion graphics and dubbing. Colossyan's homepage covers sales enablement, customer education and product explainers, but its plans are written around training and enablement.
What if you need a launch or product video instead?
Synthesia and Colossyan both make videos presented by an avatar. That works for training, onboarding and explainers. A product launch video usually needs something else: your actual UI on screen, motion graphics, and pacing built for a Product Hunt page or a landing-page hero.
That's the one job nod does. You paste your product page link and get a finished launch film with a script, designed UI scenes, motion graphics, voiceover and music. Pricing: $69/mo for 1 video, $149/mo for 3, $299/mo for 8, $999/mo unlimited (own API keys). It's not an avatar tool, so it isn't a substitute for either one on training. See nod vs Synthesia.
Still weighing avatar tools? See HeyGen vs Synthesia, Synthesia alternatives and our roundup of AI explainer video generators.
