invideo vs Pictory at a glance
| invideo | Pictory | |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | An AI video editor with agents: upload footage and describe the edit, plan shots from a script or idea, and generate clips and images with models such as Seedance and Nano Banana Pro | An AI video generator: turns text, scripts, URLs, slides and recordings into videos with stock or AI scenes, captions and AI voices |
| Free plan | None listed on the pricing page. Pro and Ultra include free guest seats with 190 credits each | 14-day free trial: 300 credits, up to 10 minutes of video, 3 video projects, 720p, with a Pictory watermark |
| Entry plan | Basic: $9 per seat a month, billed monthly; 190 credits per seat. Annual price: the page shows both $4 and $5 per seat a month, see site | Starter: $29/mo monthly, $25/mo billed annually; 1 user, up to 30 video minutes a month (360 a year on annual) |
| Mid plan | Pro: $30 per seat a month monthly, $15 billed annually; 1,000 credits per seat | Professional: $59/mo monthly, $35/mo billed annually; up to 90 video minutes a month (1,080 a year) |
| Top self-serve plan | Ultra: $80 per seat a month monthly, $40 billed annually; 3,000 credits per seat and the lowest cost per credit | Teams: $199/mo monthly, $119/mo billed annually; 3+ users, up to 300 video minutes a month (3,600 a year) |
| Enterprise | Enterprise plan with SOC 2, single sign-on and indemnification; price not stated, see site | Custom pricing; SSO, a dedicated account manager and SCORM export |
| How usage is metered | Credits. Video is priced per 5 seconds by model, e.g. Seedance 2.5 at 1080p is about 96 credits per 5 seconds. Unused credits don't roll over | Credits and video minutes. Monthly plans refresh each month; annual plans grant all credits upfront |
| Seats | Priced per seat: up to 5 on Basic, 10 on Pro (plus 10 free guests), 20 on Ultra (plus 20 free guests) | 1 user on Starter, 3+ users on Teams; Professional seat count not stated |
| Inputs | Your own footage, a script or idea, plain-language edit instructions, images | Prompt, script, article or blog post, URL, PowerPoint, documents and PDFs, images, audio, screen or camera recordings, existing videos |
| URL input | Not mentioned on its homepage or pricing page | Yes: any public page with clear text; for pages behind a login, paste the text instead |
| Generative video models | Seedance 2.0 Fast and 2.0 Mini on Basic; Seedance 2.5 at 1080p and Seedance 2.0 at 4K from Pro | AI Studio generates images and clips, charged in credits |
| Stock media | 45 (Basic), 150 (Pro) or 180 (Ultra) premium stock footage | Storyblocks and Getty: 5 million+ videos on Starter, 18 million+ on Professional and Teams |
| Voices and languages | Voice cloning and text-to-speech tools are linked from the site; language count not stated | ElevenLabs voices on every plan, voice clones from Professional; 7 languages on Starter, 29 on Professional and Teams |
| Avatars | An AI avatar generator tool is linked from the site; plan limits not stated | Stock avatars on Starter; 2 custom avatars on Professional, 2 per user on Teams |
| Max export resolution | Not stated as an export setting; Seedance 2.0 clips at 4K from Pro | 720p on the trial, 1080p on paid plans |
| Max video length | Not stated | 5 minutes on the trial, 30 minutes on paid plans (from a script or URL) |
| Watermark | Not stated | On the free trial only |
| Storage | 100 GB (Basic), 300 GB (Pro), 800 GB (Ultra) | 500 MB (trial), 5 GB (Starter), 20 GB (Professional), 100 GB (Teams) |
| Brand kits | Not stated | 1 (trial, Starter), 5 (Professional), 10 (Teams) |
| API | Not described on the pricing page | Yes, on separate API plans; not included in any subscription |
Sources, all checked November 4, 2026: invideo pricing, invideo homepage, Pictory pricing, Pictory homepage, Pictory URL to video. "Not stated" means the vendor's pages don't give the figure. "See site" means the vendor's own page gives conflicting figures.
Which is cheaper, invideo or Pictory?
On list price, invideo. Its Basic plan is $9 per seat a month on monthly billing, against $29 a month for Pictory Starter. On annual billing, invideo Pro is $15 per seat a month and Ultra $40; Pictory is $25 (Starter), $35 (Professional) and $119 (Teams). invideo's Basic annual price appears as $4 on its plan card and $5 in its comparison table, so check the checkout (invideo pricing, Pictory pricing, checked November 4, 2026).
The two meter usage differently, so the headline price is only part of the answer:
- invideo sells credits per seat: 190 on Basic, 1,000 on Pro, 3,000 on Ultra. It prices video per 5 seconds by model and estimates Basic covers about 7 Seedance 2 Fast videos a month. Unused credits don't roll over, and it says it may update credit costs without notice.
- Pictory gives each plan a video-minute allowance: up to 30 minutes a month on Starter, 90 on Professional and 300 on Teams. Annual plans get the year's credits upfront. Its FAQ says it doesn't offer refunds on paid subscriptions.
For a team, the seat model matters. invideo charges per seat and adds free guest seats on Pro and Ultra. Pictory's Teams plan is $119 a month billed annually for 3+ users.
Which is better for turning blog posts and scripts into videos?
Pictory. That's the job its site is built around: paste a script, an article or a public URL, pick a length and platform, review the AI-written script, then generate scenes with stock visuals, captions and an AI voice. It accepts PowerPoint, documents, PDFs and audio too, and it can edit an existing video by editing its transcript (Pictory, Pictory URL to video).
Its limits are published: 30-minute videos and 1080p export on paid plans, 7 supported languages on Starter and 29 on Professional and Teams.
Which is better for editing footage and generating AI clips?
invideo. Its homepage now calls it "the agentic video editor for serious creatives": you upload footage, describe the edit in plain words, review the cut and export. It has a multitrack timeline, multiplayer editing, colour and audio tools, storyboards from a script or idea, and access to generative models such as Seedance and Nano Banana Pro. Full Seedance 2.5 and Seedance 2.0 at 4K start on Pro (invideo).
If your videos start from footage you've shot, or you want generated clips rather than stock, invideo fits better. If they start from text you already have, Pictory does.
What if you need a launch video for your product?
Both tools build videos from stock or generated footage. That works for YouTube, social and blog content. A product launch video usually needs your actual UI on screen, motion graphics, and pacing built for a Product Hunt page or a landing-page hero.
That's the one job nod does. You paste your product page link and get a finished launch film with a script, designed UI scenes, motion graphics, voiceover and music. Pricing: $69/mo for 1 video, $149/mo for 3, $299/mo for 8, $999/mo unlimited (own API keys). It isn't a general text-to-video tool, so it won't replace either one for a weekly content schedule. See nod vs InVideo.
Still weighing text-to-video tools? See invideo alternatives, Pictory alternatives and our roundup of AI explainer video generators.
