Which AI explainer video generator does what?
| Tool | What it makes | Input | URL input | Cheapest paid plan | Free tier |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Synthesia | Avatar presenter videos | Script, prompt, PPT, PDF, Word | Articles and blog posts only | $14/mo annual ($19 monthly) | Yes, 10 min/month, watermark |
| HeyGen | Avatar presenters, template scenes, walkthroughs | Script, PDF, slides, URL, prompt | Yes | $24/mo annual ($29 monthly) | Yes, 3 videos/month up to 1 min |
| Colossyan | Presenter-led training videos | Word, PDF, PPT, URL, script | Yes | $59/mo, yearly billing | Yes, with limits |
| Vyond | Template animation with characters, AI avatars | Doc, script or URL (Vyond Go) | Yes | $58/user/mo annual ($99 monthly) | Free trial |
| Pictory | Stock or AI scenes with captions and voice | Prompt, script, articles, URLs, docs, slides | Yes | $25/mo annual ($29 monthly) | 14-day trial |
| Visla | AI business videos plus a recorder and editor | Idea, script, links, PDF, PPT | Yes (webpage) | From $15/mo, annual | Yes, watermark |
| Fliki | Text-to-video with AI voices and stock | Script, blog URL, prompt, slides | Yes (blog URL) | See site (localised pricing) | Yes, watermark |
| invideo AI | Prompt-to-video with generated scenes and narration | Prompt, script, your footage | Not stated | $9/seat/mo monthly | Not on pricing page |
| Powtoon | Animated explainers, whiteboard, avatars | Prompt, doc, PDF, slides | Not stated | See site (page conflicts) | Yes, 3 min, watermark |
| Animaker | Cartoon, 2D and whiteboard animation | Prompt | Not stated | See site (page conflicts) | Yes, watermark |
| Renderforest | Generated video and template animation | Prompt, script, images, clips | No | See site (localised pricing) | Test credits |
| Hera | AI motion graphics on an editable canvas | Prompt; website on its launch page | Claimed | No pricing page found | "Get started for free" |
| nod | Finished launch and explainer films: motion graphics, designed UI scenes, voiceover, music | Your product page link | Yes: a product page is the input | $49 per video; $99/mo for 3 | No |
From each tool's own pricing and product pages on November 2, 2026; annual prices where both are shown. Some vendors show localised prices or contradict themselves on their own pricing page; there we link out instead of quoting. "URL input" is what each tool's page says. We didn't test them.
How do you choose an AI explainer video generator?
- Do you want a presenter on screen? Training, onboarding, internal comms and many languages suit avatar tools. See nod vs HeyGen and nod vs Synthesia.
- Do you want characters and a story? Animation suites like Vyond give you a library of characters and scenes to assemble.
- Are you turning an article into a video? Pictory and Fliki are built for blog-to-video.
- Are you explaining or launching a software product? You'll want your real interface on screen, designed rather than screen-recorded. That's what motion-graphics tools like nod and Hera are for; see also 12 AI motion graphics tools.
How is pricing structured?
Almost every tool sells a monthly subscription that includes credits or minutes, so the cost of one finished video depends on how many generations and edits it takes. Synthesia, for example, charges 100 credits per minute of video beyond its included minutes. nod charges per finished video: $49 for one, $99 a month for three, $249 for ten, with no credits.
What should a good explainer include, whichever tool you use?
60 to 90 seconds, about 130 to 160 words per minute of script, and a structure of hook, problem, solution, how it works, proof and call to action. Make it readable with the sound off. The full breakdown is in the explainer video guide.
