Compare

Loom vs Screen Studio for product demos and walkthroughs

A neutral head-to-head of two screen recorders people use for product demos, with every fact taken from Loom's and Screen Studio's own pages. Where a vendor doesn't publish something, we say so.

Checked against loom.com and screen.studio on November 4, 2026

Loom vs Screen Studio compared
Choose Loom for quick walkthroughs you share by link, with comments, viewer insights, a free plan, and apps for Mac, PC, Chrome and mobile. Choose Screen Studio for polished demo videos on a Mac, with automatic zooms, a smoothed cursor and 4K 60 fps export, from $9 a month billed yearly. For a designed launch film rather than a recording, neither is built for it.

Loom vs Screen Studio at a glance

LoomScreen Studio
What it isScreen and camera recorder for video messages, shared by link, with comments, viewer insights and AI featuresMac screen recorder that adds automatic zooms, a smoothed cursor and backgrounds to make polished demos
PlatformsChrome extension, desktop app for Mac and PC, iOS and Android appsmacOS only (Ventura 13.1 or later recommended), built for Apple silicon; records an iPhone or iPad over USB
Free planStarter, $0: 25 videos per person, 5-minute screen recordings, up to 720p, up to 50 membersNone listed
Paid pricingBusiness: $18 per user a month monthly, $180 per user a year billed annually. Business + AI: $24 monthly, $240 a yearOne plan with every feature: $29/mo monthly, or $9/mo billed yearly. 40% off for students and educators
Free trialBusiness + AI free for 14 daysNot stated
Team and enterpriseEnterprise: custom pricing, SSO with SAML and SCIM, dedicated supportNo team or enterprise plan listed; presets and editable projects can be shared with teammates
Recording length5 minutes per video on Starter; unlimited on paid plansNot stated; share links play videos up to 30 minutes
Export qualityUp to 720p on Starter, up to 4K on paid plansMP4 in 720p, 1080p or 4K at up to 60 fps; GIF up to 1080p
Auto zoom and cursor effectsNot listedAutomatic zoom on clicks and activity, manual zoom, smoothed cursor, click effects, motion blur
CameraScreen and camera recording, custom backgroundsCamera cutout, face tracking, hide the camera during silence
EditingBusiness: trim and stitch, custom thumbnails, embedded links, basic waveform editing. Business + AI adds advanced editing and editing by transcriptEdit by transcript, remove filler words and pauses, cut, speed up and crop, on the one plan
AI featuresBusiness + AI: auto titles, summaries, chapters, CTAs, filler and silence removal, meeting notesLocal transcription with Whisper or Apple speech recognition; cloud transcription optional
Transcripts and captionsTranscriptions in 50+ languages, on the free plan tooTranscripts, with .srt export
SharingShare link and embed, comments, emojis, tasks, CTAs, viewer insights; password-protected videos on BusinessShareable browser links at 1080p and 60 fps; editable projects up to 20 GB as one download
BrandingRemove Loom branding and add your logo and player colours from BusinessBackgrounds, padding, shadows and insets, saved as presets
IntegrationsSlack, Jira, Confluence, GitHub, Gmail, plus embeds in Notion, FigJam, Intercom, Zendesk and moreNot listed
PrivacyVideo privacy controls; custom data retention on EnterpriseRecordings stored and processed locally; it says it never sends recording data to its servers

Sources, all checked November 4, 2026: Loom pricing (annual prices from its billing toggle), Loom homepage, Screen Studio homepage and pricing. "Not stated" or "not listed" means the vendor's pages don't give it.

Which is cheaper, Loom or Screen Studio?

It depends on how many people record. Loom has a free Starter plan; Screen Studio has none listed. For one person paying, Screen Studio is $9 a month billed yearly or $29 monthly, with every feature included. Loom Business is $18 per user a month, or $180 per user a year billed annually, and Business + AI is $24 a month or $240 a year (Loom pricing, Screen Studio, checked November 4, 2026).

Which is better for product demo videos?

For a demo you'll post on a landing page, X or Product Hunt, Screen Studio. It records your cursor separately and adds it back, so it can smooth movement, zoom in automatically where you click, and add motion blur after the fact. It frames iPhone and iPad recordings in a device mockup and exports MP4 up to 4K at 60 fps or GIF up to 1080p (Screen Studio).

Loom's paid plans record up to 4K too, but its pages don't list automatic zoom or cursor effects. Its editing is trim, stitch and overlays, with editing by transcript on Business + AI.

Which is better for async updates and customer walkthroughs?

Loom. That's what it's built for: record screen and camera, then share a link where viewers can comment, react and see CTAs, while you see who watched. It has transcripts in 50+ languages, integrations with Slack, Jira, Confluence and GitHub, and apps on Mac, PC, Chrome, iOS and Android. Loom says 400,000 companies use it (Loom).

Screen Studio has shareable links too, but its page doesn't list comments or viewer insights, and there's no Windows app. It suits one Mac user making a finished video, not a team trading quick clips.

What if you want a designed launch film rather than a recording?

Loom and Screen Studio both record what's on your screen. A recording is honest and fast, but it shows your product as it is, at the pace you click. A launch film is designed: scripted scenes of your UI, motion graphics, voiceover and music, cut for a Product Hunt page or a landing-page hero.

That's the one job nod does. You paste your product page link and get a finished launch film. Pricing: $69/mo for 1 video, $149/mo for 3, $299/mo for 8, $999/mo unlimited (own API keys). It doesn't record your screen, so it isn't a substitute for either tool on walkthroughs or support replies. Many teams use both: a recorder for demos, a launch film for the announcement. See our guide to product demo videos.

Still weighing recorders? See Loom alternatives and our launch video guide.

Loom vs Screen Studio FAQ

Is Loom or Screen Studio cheaper?
Loom has a free plan: 25 videos, 5-minute recordings, up to 720p. For paid plans, Screen Studio is $9 a month billed yearly, or $29 monthly, for one person. Loom Business is $18 per user a month, or $180 per user a year billed annually. For a team, Loom's per-user price is the one to multiply out (Loom, Screen Studio).
Is Loom or Screen Studio better for product demos?
For a polished demo you post publicly, Screen Studio. It adds automatic zooms, a smoothed cursor and backgrounds, and exports 4K at up to 60 fps. For a quick walkthrough sent to a teammate or customer, Loom is faster to share and comment on.
Does Screen Studio work on Windows?
No. Screen Studio says it only supports macOS and has no near-future plans for Windows. Loom has desktop apps for Mac and PC, a Chrome extension, and iOS and Android apps.
Does Loom have automatic zoom like Screen Studio?
Loom's pricing page and homepage don't list automatic zoom or cursor smoothing. They list trimming, stitching, overlays and, on Business + AI, editing by transcript and filler-word removal. Screen Studio's automatic zoom on clicks is its headline feature.
Can I make a launch video with Loom or Screen Studio?
You can record one, and Screen Studio's homepage quotes users who record launch demos with it. A recording still shows your screen as it is; if you want a designed launch film rather than a recording, nod makes one from your product page.

More: all comparisons · Loom alternatives · product demo videos

Need a launch film, not a recording?

Paste your product link and see your style frames.